10 Uses for Peppermint Oil

Let me say one thing at the beginning of this post…if you suffer from any type of digestion problem have food intolerances or ANYTHING digestive system related, you just found the next best thing next to…well, not sliced bread, because I’m of the belief that bread is not that good for you. So, I guess you just found the next best thing!

Earlier this year, I was diagnosed with severe food intolerances to all grains, all dairy, all sugar, all corn, alcohol, food dye, guar gum and a handful of other things. Needless to say it was just one stepping stone on this long, eventful journey to healing.

In removing these things, my body has begun to heal in a tremendous way. But there are still a few undiscovered intolerances […it is possible to even have more?!] and when I have something that causes a reaction, I am reaching for the peppermint. IMMEDIATELY.

Which leads me to my first point!peppermint

1. Indigestion

Apply 1-2 drops right onto the stomach to aid in digestion, or relieve stomach pain, cramps, spasms.

Peppermint oil has a long history of being used as a digestive stimulant. It is incredibly soothing to the stomach and aids in breaking down heavy foods. It relaxes the digestive muscles so they operate more efficiently.

It also relieves flatulence and intestinal cramping.  A massage over the abdomen with peppermint can greatly aid intestinal spasms, indigestion, nausea, and irritable bowel syndrome.

As a family that suffers from many severe food intolerances, peppermint is an oil that we constantly have on hand! The second we eat something that doesn’t sit well with one of us, we just apply peppermint and our problem is solved.

2. Breaks up Sinus & Lung Congestion

Apply 1 drop of peppermint on each cheek and rub it up onto your nose, over the sinuses. You may want to dilute with a carrier oil in case you have sensitive skin. Diffusing works wonderfully to open up the sinuses as well.

I used to walk around with Sudafed in my wallet. Most people carry things like credit cards and mint gum. I carried around a nasal decongestant. I actually used to live like that! When applying, try not to get it close to the eyes, otherwise they may water. If this happens, just apply a carrier oil]. But hey, that’s a small price to pay for being able to breathe. And having some more space in my wallet.

3. Headaches

Apply 1-2 drops of peppermint on the base of the neck and temples to relieve a headache.

One of the first encounters my mom and Sawyer had with the oils was on a Sunday morning. I woke up to find both of them in bed watching the Cosby show […did I tell ya that they loved that show or what?!] with splitting headaches. Before leaving for church, I came in and applied a few drops of peppermint to their temples and across their foreheads.

Upon coming back home, I found them both in the kitchen making eggs! And laughing! They looked like two kids who had ditched school and pretended to be sick. But my  mom said that shortly after we had left, her sinuses began to drain, and she stopped experiencing sinus pressure. Sawyer echoed what she said as well, and that his eyes watered and then his headache went away. They were completely fine the rest of the day.

4. Hot Flashes

Apply 1-2 drops to the chest or base of neck.

I cannot speak to this one personally, but my mom can and she will be guest posting in the next few weeks on this very topic.  When they first began for her, she was absolutely miserable. It would be the complete dead of winter and she’d be standing outside, then she’d come in and be shivering next to our oven. And then the cycle would repeat. After watching this sad [and somewhat bizarre] behavior, I found that our favorite oil is often used as a body temperature regulator! My mom has now found her favorite oil, and it’s hard for us not to giggle when we smell the peppermint come out during our Sunday morning service at church.

We recently just talked with a friend of ours who was also suffering in this way, she tried peppermint oil and now they’re no longer a problem for her either!

5. Nausea & Motion Sickness

Inhaling the scent of peppermint will settle the stomach quickly and combat nausea.

I will have a blog post on this topic up very soon, but over half of our family has experienced ‘almost’ getting sick and screaming, “WHERE’S THE PEPPERMINT?!” only to have our very troubled stomachs settle immediately after someone flew downstairs like Superman and thrust the open bottle under their nose. Oh yes, things like that happen.

6. Increased Energy

Inhale, diffuse, or apply 1-2 drops on wrists, behind the ears, and over heart.

The scent of peppermint is powerfully energizing and invigorating, which is why it can be used to ‘wake’ us up.

It will become your ‘go-to’ oil for when you’re feeling sluggish. Especially on Monday mornings, or when your kids energy levels are a bit higher than your own. It’s also great before a workout, or when you need mental clarity and need to concentrate.

7. Sore Muscles

Applying a few drops over the sore muscles, or making a cream or roll-on will ease the pain of sore muscles.

Peppermint is a muscle-relaxant and an antispasmodic, making it incredibly effective for any type of muscle problem.

One of my favorite ways to use it is to have some dotted up my back and then apply a hot towel. It is the most invigorating, therapeutic feeling ever. I stand up feeling like a new person!

8. Fevers

Apply a few drops of peppermint on the bottom of each foot to reduce a fever.

…been there, done that. It worked wonderfully.

9. Itchy Skin

From eczema to dermatitis to sunburns poison ivy/poison oak…peppermint oil works wonders.

Apply in a diluted form [in coconut oil or another vegetable oil] on the affected on area. Or simply add a few drops to a glass bottle filled with water, give it a good shake and spritz onto the skin.

I used this on a second degree sunburn this past March, and the cooling sensation and relief it brought to the heat trapped beneath my skin something I will never forget. If you’ve ever had a second degree sunburn, chances are you’ve never forgotten that experience either. It’s traumatizing! But using it was a lifesaver. :)

10. Bad Breath/Halitosis

Since I cannot use regular mouthwash due to the numerous allergens in it, I decided to make my own using Peppermint oil and I have now waved and said my eager goodbyes to Scope and Listerine. There’s no turning back now.

It’s strong, but it leaves my mouth thoroughly clean and smelling minty. And it lasts for hours! I really feel like my mouth is cleaner than it’s ever been after I use it. I just fill a glass up with water, add a drop of peppermint oil to it and swish around! There are plenty of other recipes online where other things are added, but I don’t have time for that.

I absolutely carry it with me everywhere.

This is the oil that covers so many bases for me, and the one that I immediately order the second I feel like it’s getting a bit low. I really use it all throughout the day, and in doing so no longer take three medications that I used to have to take.

I most frequently use it for indigestion, congestion, energy, headaches, sore muscles, and in my mouthwash. Next up is adding it to flavor my brownies!

…but for now, I’m diffusing it. :)

Diffuser

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

